from Wiktionary, Creative Commons Attribution/Share-Alike License

  • proper n. A republic of Russia to the south-west of the country, with capital Maykop.


Sorry, no etymologies found.


  • In Adygea, Russian nationalists encouraged by Moscow seek to merge with Russia's Krasnodar region to the north.

    The Real Crisis In Putin's Russia

  • If they succeed, Adygea would lose the autonomy it won in mid-1991.

    The Real Crisis In Putin's Russia

  • The three natural monuments and the nature park are under the jurisdiction of the Cabinet of the Republic of Adygea, but there are no management plans for these sites.

    Western Caucasus, Russian Federation

  • A total of 1,580 vascular plant species have been recorded from the site, including 967 species from the high mountain zone, about one third of which are endemic to the Caucasus. 160 species of plants are in danger of extinction and are listed in the Red Data books of the Russian Federation, Adygea and the Krasnodar region.

    Western Caucasus, Russian Federation

  • This complex of sites is located in the mountains of the western Greater Caucasus in southwesternmost European Russia in the province of Krasnodar and the Republics of Adygea and Karachaevo-Cherkessia.

    Western Caucasus, Russian Federation

  • Administrative divisions: 21 autonomous republics (avtomnykh respublik, singular - avtomnaya respublika); Adygea (Maykop),

    The 1996 CIA Factbook

  • Two of Russia's North Caucasus regions - Adygea and Kabardino-Balkaria - urged Moscow to apologize for the killings after the breakup of the Soviet Union, but Circassians say the Russian parliament never responded to the initiative. Top headlines

  • Ingushetia, Dagestan, North Ossetia, Karachaevo-Cherkessia, Adygea and Kabardino-Balkaria has taken the most direct forms.

    David Osler

  • Unemployed numbers rose in 74 out of 83 Russian regions, with the Astrakhan Region and the republics of Khakassia, Kalmykia, Adygea and Chuvashia reporting the highest growth in the past week.

    RIA Novosti

  • Bashkortostan, Dagestan, Chechnya, Ingushetia, Kabardino-Balkariya, Karachai-Circassia and Adygea - have declared Friday as the holiday day.

    RIA Novosti


Log in or sign up to get involved in the conversation. It's quick and easy.