Austria-Hungary love



from The American Heritage® Dictionary of the English Language, 5th Edition.

  • A former dual monarchy of central Europe consisting of Austria, Hungary, Bohemia, Moravia, Slovakia, Croatia, Slovenia, Bosnia, Herzegovina, and parts of Poland, Ukraine, Romania, Serbia, and Italy. It was formed in 1867 after agitation by Hungarian nationalists within the Austrian empire and lasted until 1918.

from Wiktionary, Creative Commons Attribution/Share-Alike License.

  • proper noun historical A former country in Central Europe from 1867 to 1918.


Sorry, no etymologies found.



Log in or sign up to get involved in the conversation. It's quick and easy.