from The American Heritage® Dictionary of the English Language, 4th Edition

  • A landlocked country of western South America. Once a part of the Incan Empire, the area was conquered by Spain in the 16th century. The country was named after Simón Bolívar, who helped win its independence from Spain in 1825. Sucre is the legal capital and the seat of the judiciary. La Paz is the administrative center. Santa Cruz is the largest city. Population: 9,120,000.

from Wiktionary, Creative Commons Attribution/Share-Alike License

  • proper n. A country in South America. Capital cities: Sucre (constitutional capital), La Paz (seat of government). Largest city: Santa Cruz de la Sierra. Official name: Plurinational State of Bolivia.

from WordNet 3.0 Copyright 2006 by Princeton University. All rights reserved.

  • n. a landlocked republic in central South America; Simon Bolivar founded Bolivia in 1825 after winning independence from Spain
  • n. a form of canasta in which sequences can be melded


from Wiktionary, Creative Commons Attribution/Share-Alike License

From Simón Bolívar



Log in or sign up to get involved in the conversation. It's quick and easy.