Confederate States of America love

Confederate States of America


from The American Heritage® Dictionary of the English Language, 5th Edition.

  • A republic formed in February, 1861, and composed of the 11 Southern states that seceded from the United States in order to preserve slavery and states' rights. It was dissolved in 1865 after being defeated in the American Civil War.

from Wiktionary, Creative Commons Attribution/Share-Alike License.

  • proper noun A nation existing from 1861-1865, consisting of the eleven Southern states who sought independence from the United States of America over the issue of slavery and states' rights.

from WordNet 3.0 Copyright 2006 by Princeton University. All rights reserved.

  • noun the southern states that seceded from the United States in 1861


Sorry, no etymologies found.



Log in or sign up to get involved in the conversation. It's quick and easy.