from The American Heritage® Dictionary of the English Language, 5th Edition.

  • A union territory of northwest India on the Arabian Sea. It comprises two former Portuguese colonies, which were annexed by India in 1962 and administered jointly with Goa from 1962 to 1987, when Goa became a separate state.

from Wiktionary, Creative Commons Attribution/Share-Alike License.

  • proper noun Union territory in western India which has Daman as its capital.


Sorry, no etymologies found.


    Sorry, no example sentences found.


Log in or sign up to get involved in the conversation. It's quick and easy.