from Wiktionary, Creative Commons Attribution/Share-Alike License

  • n. The twelve great gods of Roman mythology, namely Juno, Vesta, Minerva, Ceres, Diana, Venus, Mars, Mercury, Jupiter, Neptune, Vulcan, and Apollo.
  • n. By extension, any illustrious or eminent group of people, not necessarily twelve in number; most frequently applied to writers of literature.


Latin di maiores “greater gods;” deus “god” + maior “greater,” comparative of magnus “great”. (Wiktionary)


Sorry, no example sentences found.


Log in or sign up to get involved in the conversation. It's quick and easy.