Equatorial Guinea love

Equatorial Guinea


from The American Heritage® Dictionary of the English Language, 4th Edition

  • A country of west-central Africa including islands in the Gulf of Guinea. Originally inhabited by Pygmy peoples, it was discovered by the Portuguese in 1472. The largest island, now called Bioko, was ceded to Spain by Portugal in 1778, and the mainland territory, Río Muni, came under Spanish rule in 1885. The colony became known as Spanish Guinea, and it gained independence from Spain in 1968. Malabo is the capital and the largest city. Population: 551,000.

from Wiktionary, Creative Commons Attribution/Share-Alike License

  • proper n. Country in Western Africa. Official name: Republic of Equatorial Guinea.

from WordNet 3.0 Copyright 2006 by Princeton University. All rights reserved.

  • n. a country of west central Africa (including islands in the Gulf of Guinea); became independent from Spain in 1968


Sorry, no etymologies found.


    Sorry, no example sentences found.


Log in or sign up to get involved in the conversation. It's quick and easy.