French Community love

French Community


Sorry, no definitions found. You may find more data at french community.


Sorry, no etymologies found.


  • The country gained self-government within the French Community, under the leadership of Léon M'Ba, leader of the Bloc Démocratique Gabonaise.

    7. Gabon

  • The 11 colonies voting for self-government joined the French Community; their leaders favored independence in principle, but feared the effects of a cutoff of French aid.


  • In 1959, the territory of French Equatorial Africa was dissolved, and four states -- Gabon, the Central African Republic, Congo (Brazzaville), and Chad -- became autonomous members of the French Community.


  • After the establishment of the Fifth French Republic on December 4, 1958, Niger became an autonomous state within the French Community.


  • It also found that the justification advanced relating to the homogeneity of the system was in this case the same as that relating to the need to preserve the quality of the health system provided in the French Community.

    EU Law Blog

  • On September 22, Soudan proclaimed itself the Republic of Mali and withdrew from the French Community.


  • Republique Soudanaise became a member of the French Community and enjoyed complete internal autonomy.


  • In January 1959, Soudan joined Senegal to form the Mali Federation, which became fully independent within the French Community on June 20, 1960.


  • The budget allocated to the Film Selection Committee - a constituent body for audiovisual production in the French Community - has risen by 28\% in five years and is soon expected to reach €10m (in 2008 it was €8. 9m).


  • Led by Ahmed Sékou Touré, head of the Democratic Party of Guinea (PDG), which won 56 of 60 seats in 1957 territorial elections, the people of Guinea in a September 1958 plebiscite overwhelmingly rejected membership in the proposed French Community.



Log in or sign up to get involved in the conversation. It's quick and easy.