French West Africa love

French West Africa


from The American Heritage® Dictionary of the English Language, 4th Edition

  • A former federation (1895-1959) of French territories in western Africa comprising the present-day countries of Benin, Burkina Faso, Guinea, Côte d'Ivoire, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, and Senegal.

from Wiktionary, Creative Commons Attribution/Share-Alike License

  • proper n. French West Africa is the (literal) English rendering of Afrique Occidentale française (abbreviated AOC), a geographical group of French colonies in West Africa under the supervisory authority of a single governor-general, comprising the following colonised countries (present names as independent republics in perenthesis if different): Dahomey (Benin), French Guinea (Guinea), the French Sudan (Mali), Ivory Coast, Mauritania, Niger, Senegal and Upper Volta (Burkina Faso); the last governor-general was also the first of two successive High commissioners, charged with the transition to independence as independent republics, without a common administrative level


Sorry, no etymologies found.


  • Last week, a group of students from French West Africa visited Hazelwood as part of the International Exchange Experience.

    Tears of a Tiger

  • Given two hundred men and six hundred francs, Marchand promised he could cross from French West Africa to the Gazelle River, and stake the French claim that would ensure a seat at the conference table.

    Three Empires on the Nile


Log in or sign up to get involved in the conversation. It's quick and easy.