from The American Heritage® Dictionary of the English Language, 4th Edition

  • Formerly British Gui·a·na (gē-ănˈə, -äˈnə, gī-)Guyana A country of northeast South America on the Atlantic Ocean. The region of Guiana was settled in the early 17th century by the Dutch, who competed with the British and the French over the next two centuries for control of the coast. Awarded the western portion of Guiana in 1815, Great Britain established (1831) the colony of British Guiana, which gained its independence as Guyana in 1966. Georgetown is the capital and the largest city. Population: 769,000.

from Wiktionary, Creative Commons Attribution/Share-Alike License

  • proper n. A country in South America. Official name: Cooperative Republic of Guyana.

from WordNet 3.0 Copyright 2006 by Princeton University. All rights reserved.

  • n. a republic in northeastern South America; formerly part of the British Empire, but it achieved independence from the United Kingdom in 1966


Sorry, no etymologies found.



Log in or sign up to get involved in the conversation. It's quick and easy.