from The American Heritage® Dictionary of the English Language, 4th Edition

  • A province of eastern Canada comprising a mainland peninsula and the adjacent Cape Breton Island. It joined the confederation in 1867. The first successful settlement was made by the French at Port Royal (now Annapolis Royal) in 1610. France and Great Britain bitterly contested the area, part of Acadia, until 1763, when the Treaty of Paris awarded the French possessions in North America to the British. During the 18th century many Scots immigrated to the region, leading to its name, a Latinized version of "New Scotland.” Halifax is the capital and the largest city. Population: 913,000.

from Wiktionary, Creative Commons Attribution/Share-Alike License

  • proper n. A province in eastern Canada, capital Halifax.

from WordNet 3.0 Copyright 2006 by Princeton University. All rights reserved.

  • n. a peninsula in eastern Canada between the Bay of Fundy and the Saint Lawrence River
  • n. the Canadian province in the Maritimes consisting of the Nova Scotia peninsula and Cape Breton Island; French settlers who called the area Acadia were exiled to Louisiana by the British in the 1750s and their descendants are know as Cajuns


from Wiktionary, Creative Commons Attribution/Share-Alike License

From Latin, literally “New Scotland”, from nova, feminine of novus ("new") + Scotia ("Scotland").


    Sorry, no example sentences found.


Log in or sign up to get involved in the conversation. It's quick and easy.