Definitions

from The American Heritage® Dictionary of the English Language, 5th Edition.

  • A city of northern Bulgaria northeast of Sofia. Settled by Thracians, it was ruled by Turkey from the 1400s to the 1800s.

from Wiktionary, Creative Commons Attribution/Share-Alike License.

  • proper noun a city in northern Bulgaria

from WordNet 3.0 Copyright 2006 by Princeton University. All rights reserved.

  • noun the town was taken from the Turks by the Russians in 1877 after a siege of 143 days

Etymologies

Sorry, no etymologies found.

Examples

  • And, to understand this, one must go back to 1950 when the "father of Europe", Jean Monnet, launched what became known as the Pleven Plan for a European Defence Community, held together by a European Political Community.

    Archive 2007-02-01

  • Premier Pleven recommended the creation of a European ministry of defense (known as the Pleven Plan) rather than the rearmament of (West) Germany.

    1950

  • Someone (or more than one someone) is supplying the Ottoman commanders information about Russian plans during the long and bloody 1877 siege of Plevna (in what is now Bulgaria and called Pleven).

    Epinions Recent Content for Home

  • Write to Liam Pleven at liam.pleven@wsj.com and Carolyn Cui at carolyn.cui@wsj.com

    Markets Ask: What Turmoil?

  • Write to Mary Pilon at mary.pilon@wsj.com , Liam Pleven at liam.pleven@wsj.com and Jason Zweig at intelligentinvestor@wsj.com

    Gold Even Reigns On Stock Market

  • Write to Gina Chon at gina.chon@wsj.com , Liam Pleven at liam.pleven@wsj.com and Jacob Bunge at jacob.bunge@dowjones.com

    MF Global Customers Gain Support From ICE

  • Write to Liam Pleven at liam.pleven@wsj.com and Jacob Bunge at jacob.bunge@dowjones.com

    MF Customers Describe an Unwanted Game of Limbo

  • Write to Chad Bray at chad.bray@dowjones.com and Liam Pleven at liam.pleven@wsj.com

    AIG-Gen Re Convictions Dismissed

  • Write to Liam Pleven at liam.pleven@wsj.com , Jonathan Cheng at jonathan.cheng@wsj.com and Guy Chazan at guy.chazan@wsj.com

    Arab Unrest Stuns Markets

  • Write to Liam Pleven at liam.pleven@wsj.com and Benoit Faucon at benoit.faucon@dowjones.com

    Oil Producers Take Steps to Return

Comments

Log in or sign up to get involved in the conversation. It's quick and easy.