Thirteen Colonies love

Help support Wordnik by adopting your favorite word!

Thirteen Colonies


from The American Heritage® Dictionary of the English Language, 4th Edition

  • The thirteen British colonies in North America that joined together to form the original states of the United States, including New Hampshire, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Connecticut, New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Delaware, Maryland, Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Georgia.

from Wiktionary, Creative Commons Attribution/Share-Alike License

  • proper n. The thirteen British colonies that successfully revolted in 1775--1781, forming the nucleus of the United States of America. To wit: New Hampshire, Massachusetts (including present-day Maine), Rhode Island, Connecticut, New York (including present-day Vermont), New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Maryland, Delaware, Virginia (including present-day West Virginia), North Carolina, South Carolina, and Georgia.


Sorry, no etymologies found.


  • When the Thirteen Colonies declared their independence almost two centuries ago, they opened the door to a new vision of liberty and of human fulfillment -- not just for an elite but for all.

    State of the Union Address (1790-2001)


Log in or sign up to get involved in the conversation. It's quick and easy.