from The American Heritage® Dictionary of the English Language, 4th Edition

  • An arm of the Atlantic Ocean in northern Europe bounded by Denmark, Sweden, Finland, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, and Germany. It opens to the North Sea via channels and canals, is mostly shallow, with relatively low salinity, and often freezes for three to five months of the year.


Sorry, no etymologies found.



Log in or sign up to get involved in the conversation. It's quick and easy.