Definitions

from Wiktionary, Creative Commons Attribution/Share-Alike License.

  • noun Any of several salts derived from casein via the coagulation of milk protein

Etymologies

Sorry, no etymologies found.

Examples

  • Their ingredient lists aren't especially appealing: Liquid CoffeeMate original flavor, for contains water, corn syrup solids, partially hydrogenated soybean or cottonseed oil, sodium caseinate, dipotassium phosphate, mono- and diglycerides, sodium aluminosilicate, artificial flavor and carrageenan.

    Is that right? La Creme: 100% dairy, 0% shame

  • Erb reports that MSG appears as the terms natural flavouring, hydrolyzed or textured vegetable protein, Accent, calcium caseinate, autolyzed yeast extract and gelatin.

    Beverley Golden: Obesity, MSG and Rats

  • Erb reports that MSG appears as the terms natural flavouring, hydrolyzed or textured vegetable protein, Accent, calcium caseinate, autolyzed yeast extract and gelatin.

    Beverley Golden: Obesity, MSG and Rats

  • The Web site engages in some silliness at the expense of non-dairy creamers' ingredients, pointing out that sodium caseinate, for instance, is used in making glue, that non-dairy creamer can be flammable, and that some contain cellulose gel and gum, ingredients used in making shampoo and shaving cream.

    Is that right? La Creme: 100% dairy, 0% shame

  • Cool Whip is made with sodium caseinate, which disqualifies it for use by the above-mentioned groups.

    Cool Whip's New Aerosol Can

  • The answer to your question is that casein salts will always be listed that way, as sodium caseinate or calcium caseinate or even, though rarely, potassium caseinate.

    Casein Not in All Sodium

  • None of the proteins listed - casein, caseinate, milk serum proteins - would normally contain lactose, but the other forms would.

    Archive 2006-01-01

  • It is not, however, milk protein free, since it contains both caseinate and milk protein concentrate.

    Archive 2006-10-01

  • They contain sodium caseinate, so they're not suitable for those with dairy allergies or for vegans, and they are not pareve.

    More Christmas Nondairy

  • None of the proteins listed - casein, caseinate, milk serum proteins - would normally contain lactose, but the other forms would.

    Modified Milk Ingredients

Comments

Log in or sign up to get involved in the conversation. It's quick and easy.