from Wiktionary, Creative Commons Attribution/Share-Alike License

  • n. The formation of a club hair as part of the cessation phase of the hair growth cycle


Sorry, no etymologies found.


  • The normal growth cycle has three phases: the anagen or actual growing phase during which a hair strand grows about a centimeter less than a half an inch per month for approximately three or more years, followed by the catagen phase in which the growth of the hair stops.

    Glenn D. Braunstein, M.D.: Hair Today, Gone Tomorrow

  • Hair growth and shedding happen in three phases—the anagen, or growth phase; the catagen, or transition stage; and the telogen or resting phase.

    Simple Skin Beauty

  • The second phase is called the regressive phase or catagen phase, lasting on average only two weeks, during which the hair stops growing but is not shed.

    Wil's Ebay E-Store

  • Approximately 3% of all hairs are in the catagen phase at one time.

    CreationWiki - Recent changes [en]

  • The hair growth cycle consists of three stages: anagen (growing phase), catagen

    CreationWiki - Recent changes [en]

  • The hair cycle is composed of three stages: anagen, catagen, and telogen.

    Serendip's Exchange -

  • The length of the anagen phase varies from 2-7 years, and between 80-90\% of hair on the hair on the scalp is in the anagen phase at any one time (there are over one hundred thousand hairs on the scalp) After the growing phase the follicle then enters the catagen phase.

  • While falling hair is normal, it may take months before the hair follicles become active again after its catagen (resting) phase.

    Best Syndication -


Log in or sign up to get involved in the conversation. It's quick and easy.