mohs hardness scale love

mohs hardness scale


Sorry, no definitions found. Check out and contribute to the discussion of this word!


Sorry, no etymologies found.


    Sorry, no example sentences found.


Log in or sign up to get involved in the conversation. It's quick and easy.

  • A scale of 1 to 10 used for determining a mineral's hardness, introduced by German geologist Friedrich Mohs in 1812. To apply the scale, the measurer attempts to scratch the mineral with standard minerals assigned hardness numbers as follows: diamond 10, corundum 9, topaz 8, quartz 7, orthoclase 6, apatite 5, fluorite 4, calcite 3, gypsum 2, and talc 1. If, for example, the mineral is scratched by quartz but not by orthoclase, then its hardness is between 6 and 7.

    November 7, 2007