from The American Heritage® Dictionary of the English Language, 4th Edition

  • A country of northwest Europe bordering on Belgium, Germany, and France. Created as a duchy in 1354, it was ruled successively by Burgundy, Spain, Austria, and France between 1443 and 1797, and it was made a grand duchy of the Netherlands by the Congress of Vienna (1814-1815). In 1839 the greater part of it passed to Belgium. The remainder became autonomous in 1848 and was declared a neutral and independent territory in 1867. Luxembourg is the capital. Population: 480,000.
  • The capital of Luxembourg, in the southern part of the country. It developed around a heavily fortified tenth-century castle. Population: 76,400.

from Wiktionary, Creative Commons Attribution/Share-Alike License

  • proper n. A country in Europe having borders with Belgium, France and Germany. Member state of the European Union. Official language: Letzeburgesh. Official name: Grand Duchy of Luxembourg.
  • proper n. A province of Wallonia, Belgium.
  • proper n. The capital city of Luxembourg (the country).
  • proper n. The district of the Luxembourg (the country) that includes its capital city.

from WordNet 3.0 Copyright 2006 by Princeton University. All rights reserved.

  • n. a grand duchy (a constitutional monarchy) landlocked in northwestern Europe between France and Belgium and Germany; an international financial center
  • n. the capital and largest city of Luxembourg


from Wiktionary, Creative Commons Attribution/Share-Alike License

From Middle High German Luccelemburc, from Old High German Lucilinburhuc, ultimately from lucilem ("little") + burg ("castle").



Log in or sign up to get involved in the conversation. It's quick and easy.