from The American Heritage® Dictionary of the English Language, 5th Edition.

  • An island state of southeast Australia consisting of the island of Tasmania along with several smaller islands and separated from the mainland by Bass Strait. Abel Tasman explored the island in 1642, naming it Van Diemen's Land. It was renamed in his honor in 1856. Tasmania joined Australia in 1901. Hobart is the capital.

from Wiktionary, Creative Commons Attribution/Share-Alike License.

  • proper noun One of the six federal states of Australia, consisting of one large, eponymous and several much smaller islands, off the eastern part of Australia's south coast, having its capital at Hobart.
  • proper noun The large island comprising the majority of the state of Tasmania's land area and on which most of its inhabitants live.

from WordNet 3.0 Copyright 2006 by Princeton University. All rights reserved.

  • noun an Australian state on the island of Tasmania
  • noun an island off the southeastern coast of Australia


from Wiktionary, Creative Commons Attribution/Share-Alike License

After the Dutch naval explorer Abel Tasman, who discovered the island and New Zealand in 1642.



Log in or sign up to get involved in the conversation. It's quick and easy.