from Wiktionary, Creative Commons Attribution/Share-Alike License

  • n. Plural form of sephirah.

from The Century Dictionary and Cyclopedia

  • In the cabala, the Sephiroth are the ten attributes or intelligences which form the Adam Kadmon, the ‘Primordial man’ (the Deity). These attributes emanate from the En-Soph, the ‘Infinite.’ Their names are as follows: Kether, 'the crown
  • H˙akmah, ‘wisdom’
  • Binah, ‘intelligence’
  • H˙esed, ‘mercy’ or ‘love’
  • Pah˙ad, Geburah, or Din, ‘strength and justice’
  • Tiphereth, ‘beauty’
  • Netsah˙, ‘firmness’ or ‘victory’
  • Hod, ‘majesty’ or ‘splendor’
  • Yesod, ‘foundation’
  • (10) Malkuth, ‘kingdom.’ The Sephiroth are divided in three categories called 'Amudim, ‘pillars’; numbers 2, 4, and 7 form the right pillar, the ‘Pillar of Love’; numbers 1, 6, 9, and 10 form the middle pillar, the ‘Pillar of Mercy’; numbers 3, 5, and 8 form the left pillar, the ‘Pillar of Judgment.’ The Sephiroth are united by links forming three more triads. The first, the uppermost triad, is composed of the Crown, Wisdom, and Intelligence; the second, of Love, Justice, and Beauty; the third, of Firmness, Majesty, and Foundation. These triads, according to the Zohar, form other triads. The three pillars together are known in the cabala as Ets-H˙aïm, the Tree of Life. See Adam Kadmon.
  • n. In the cabala, the first ten numerals, as attributes and emanations of the Deity, compared to rays of light, and identified with Scripture names of God. By the Sephiroth the first and highest of four worlds was said to be formed. See cabalist.


Sorry, no etymologies found.



Log in or sign up to get involved in the conversation. It's quick and easy.