photoreception love

Definitions

from The American Heritage® Dictionary of the English Language, 4th Edition

  • n. The detection, absorption, and use of light, as for vision in animals or phototropism and photosynthesis in plants.

from Wiktionary, Creative Commons Attribution/Share-Alike License

  • n. the absorption of light energy by plants and animals, and its utilization for biologically important purposes

Etymologies

Sorry, no etymologies found.

Examples

  • They provide sensation (including photoreception), communications, signal transduction, trasport, motility and reproductive functions.

    Another predictable argument against front-loading

  • The strong evidence lies in the diversity of extant forms and the deep molecular homologies in both the biochemistry of photoreception and the developmental regulators of form.

    Ya gotta love August - The Panda's Thumb

  • THE HUMAN BBAIN which discrete organs " eyes " are devoted to photoreception.

    The Human Brain

  • For readers of Perception, photoreception might be a more interesting alternative than movement in response to warmth, but either mechanism would be a novel phenomenon for the body of fly literature Xu et al, 2006.

    Boing Boing

  • Lu J, Fischer D, Saper CB (2003) A broad role for melanopsin in nonvisual photoreception.

    PLoS ONE Alerts: New Articles

  • Previous anatomical studies of PACAP/melanopsin-containing retinal innervation suggested roles of PACAP/melanopsin in a broad variety of nonvisual photoreception

    PLoS ONE Alerts: New Articles

  • To clarify the functional roles of intrinsic PACAP in nonvisual photoreception, we examined entrainment, masking and the pupillary light reflex (PLR) in,

    PLoS ONE Alerts: New Articles

  • The photopigment melanopsin has been suggested to act as a dominant photoreceptor in nonvisual photoreception including resetting of the circadian clock (entrainment), direct tuning or masking of vital status (activity, sleep/wake cycles, etc.), and the pupillary light reflex (PLR).

    PLoS ONE Alerts: New Articles

  • Menaker M (2007) Circadian photoreception in vertebrates.

    PLoS ONE Alerts: New Articles

  • Japan The photopigment melanopsin has been suggested to act as a dominant photoreceptor in nonvisual photoreception including resetting of the circadian clock (entrainment), direct tuning or masking of vital status (activity, sleep/wake cycles, etc.), and the pupillary light reflex

    PLoS ONE Alerts: New Articles

Wordnik is becoming a not-for-profit! Read our announcement here.

Comments

Log in or sign up to get involved in the conversation. It's quick and easy.