from The American Heritage® Dictionary of the English Language, 4th Edition

  • A country of south-central North America. Southern Mexico was the site of various advanced civilizations beginning with the Olmec and including the Maya, Zapotec, Toltec, Mixtec, and Aztec cultures. Mexico was conquered by Cortés in 1521 and held by the Spanish until 1821. The Treaty of Guadalupe Hidalgo that ended the Mexican War (1846-1848) awarded all lands north of the Rio Grande to the United States. Mexico City is the capital and the largest city. Population: 109,000,000.
  • Gulf ofMexico An arm of the Atlantic Ocean in southeast North America bordering on eastern Mexico, the southeast United States, and Cuba. It connects with the Atlantic Ocean through the Straits of Florida and with the Caribbean Sea through the Yucatán Channel.

from Wiktionary, Creative Commons Attribution/Share-Alike License

  • proper n. A country in North America. Official name: Estados Unidos Mexicanos (United Mexican States).
  • proper n. An alternative name for Mexico City.
  • proper n. A state in Mexico. Capital: Toluca.

from WordNet 3.0 Copyright 2006 by Princeton University. All rights reserved.

  • n. a republic in southern North America; became independent from Spain in 1810


from Wiktionary, Creative Commons Attribution/Share-Alike License

From Spanish, from Nahuatl mexihco, describing the Mexica (Aztecs).



Log in or sign up to get involved in the conversation. It's quick and easy.