from The American Heritage® Dictionary of the English Language, 4th Edition

  • An island group of the southern Pacific Ocean east-northeast of Fiji, divided between Samoa, a sovereign nation, and American Samoa, a territory of the United States. The islands were originally populated by Polynesians perhaps as early as 1000 B.C. and were first sighted by European explorers in 1722. Dual administration of the archipelago was established by treaty in 1899.
  • Formerly Western SamoaSamoa 2 An island country of the southern Pacific Ocean comprising the western Samoa Islands. The islands were discovered and visited by the Dutch and the French in the 18th century. The eastern islands were annexed by the United States in 1899 as American Samoa, with the western islands going to Germany. Occupied by New Zealand during World War I, the western islands were later administered as a League of Nations mandate and a UN trust territory. Western Samoa achieved independence as a constitutional monarchy in 1962, and in 1997 the country's name was formally changed to Samoa. Apia, on Upolu Island, is the capital. Population: 214,000.

from Wiktionary, Creative Commons Attribution/Share-Alike License

  • proper n. A country in Oceania.

from WordNet 3.0 Copyright 2006 by Princeton University. All rights reserved.

  • n. a group of volcanic islands in the South Pacific midway between Hawaii and Australia; its climate and scenery and Polynesian culture make it a popular tourist stop
  • n. a constitutional monarchy on the western part of the islands of Samoa in the South Pacific


from Wiktionary, Creative Commons Attribution/Share-Alike License

Samoan Sāmoa



Log in or sign up to get involved in the conversation. It's quick and easy.