Definitions

from The American Heritage® Dictionary of the English Language, 5th Edition.

  • noun A composer of fables.
  • noun A teller of tales; a liar.

from The Century Dictionary.

  • noun An inventor or a writer of fables; a fabler; a maker of fictions.

from the GNU version of the Collaborative International Dictionary of English.

  • noun One who invents or writes fables.

from Wiktionary, Creative Commons Attribution/Share-Alike License.

  • noun one who writes or tells fables
  • noun a liar

from WordNet 3.0 Copyright 2006 by Princeton University. All rights reserved.

  • noun a person who tells or invents fables

Etymologies

from The American Heritage® Dictionary of the English Language, 4th Edition

[French fabuliste, from Latin fābula, fable; see fable.]

Examples

  • But because it’s Aleksandar Hemon, the stories extend far beyond the immigrant experience; each one is punctuated with unexpected humor and spins out in fabulist, exhilarating directions, ultimately building to an insightful, often heartbreaking conclusion.

    Love and Obstacles by Aleksandar Hemon: Book summary

  • Fontaine will feel that Gay the fabulist is a writer whose work the world has let die very willingly indeed.

    Views and Reviews Essays in appreciation

  • I tend to read very unusual fiction - horror, dark fantasy, slipstream and "fabulist" or "New Weird", and anything that touches on gender, race and sexual issues.

    INTO THIS MIND -- Opening Chapters

  • He is new to the mystery field, but he has published numerous stories he terms "fabulist" that range from speculative fiction to fantasy to quiet atmospheric horror.

    Alfred Hitchcock's Mystery Magazine

  • He is new to the mystery field, but he has published numerous stories he terms "fabulist" that range from speculative fiction to fantasy to quiet atmospheric horror.

    Alfred Hitchcock's Mystery Magazine

  • A shy manifesto, an impractical handbook, the true story of a fabulist, an entire life in parts and pieces, Manhood for Amateurs is the first sustained work of personal writing from Michael Chabon.

    Manhood for Amateurs: Summary and book reviews of Manhood for Amateurs by Michael Chabon.

  • "The Children's Hospital, a sprawling and impassioned morality tale in which a catastrophe of biblical scale wipes out nearly all life, human and otherwise, on Earth… despite its weaknesses, The Children's Hospital establishes Chris Adrian as a remarkable American fabulist in the tradition of Melvin Jules Bukiet and Tony Kushner, writers who define and confront the terrifying moral choices of a new century."

    The Children's Hospital by Chris Adrian: Book summary

  • With an eye ever open for the absurdity of her vocation, Mr. Gottlieb steers us through a thicket of fictions and half-truths about Sarah, many of them perpetrated by the "relentless fabulist" herself.

    Actress, Seductress

  • It is not, to use a rather nebulous term, the "best" book about wine I've read -- that distinction rests with Neal Rosenthal's Reflections of a Wine Merchant -- but it reads like fabulous and fabulist fiction, and that's a real credit to the author, considering it's not fiction at all.

    Book Reviews

  • It is not, to use a rather nebulous term, the "best" book about wine I've read -- that distinction rests with Neal Rosenthal's Reflections of a Wine Merchant -- but it reads like fabulous and fabulist fiction, and that's a real credit to the author, considering it's not fiction at all.

    LENNDEVOURS:

Comments

New comments are temporarily disabled while we update our database.

  • A composer of fables, or in general, someone who tells fantastical untruths. Also, see technomage.

    August 26, 2007

  • A fabulous word list

    September 21, 2007

  • That, or marvelist. ;-)

    September 21, 2007

  • This word appears in an intriguing short story. I can't cite just fabulist, you need to read the lot for the sense of this.

    December 2, 2007

  • Wonderful! Thanks, bilby!

    December 2, 2007