from Wiktionary, Creative Commons Attribution/Share-Alike License

  • proper n. Collectively, the six states of the United States colonized by the English in the 17th century, namely Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island and Vermont.
  • proper n. a loosely defined region in the north of the state of New South Wales.

from WordNet 3.0 Copyright 2006 by Princeton University. All rights reserved.

  • n. a region of northeastern United States comprising Maine and New Hampshire and Vermont and Massachusetts and Rhode Island and Connecticut


Sorry, no etymologies found.


Wordnik is becoming a not-for-profit! Read our announcement here.


Log in or sign up to get involved in the conversation. It's quick and easy.

  • I tell you, Leslie, that for intense, self-centred, smouldering volcanoes of humanity, New England cannot be matched the world over.
    --Sarah Orne Jewett, 1884, A Country Doctor

    December 18, 2009