Definitions

from Wiktionary, Creative Commons Attribution/Share-Alike License

  • v. To dash down; to beat.

from the GNU version of the Collaborative International Dictionary of English

  • transitive v. To spring or recoil with violence.
  • transitive v. To dash down; to beat.

from The Century Dictionary and Cyclopedia

  • To spring or recoil with violence.
  • To spread out the limbs; walk with long ungraceful strides.
  • To dash down violently; beat.
  • n. A hard, long walk.

Etymologies

Sorry, no etymologies found.

Examples

  • All your little fiddling lords, Henry James, with their endless stram of words, Henry James, are not worth one sweating jay who is toiling day by day, sawing work or bailing hay, Henry James.

    Henry James and the loquacity of incomprehension

  • Research presently is focusing on primitive families of plants, forest canopy and floor arthrops, stram and vertebrate fauna.

    Wet Tropics of Queensland World Heritage Site, Australia

  • I Reed Cld, as he promised Abramoff in an e-mail deliver 85,000 Christain Voters, Abramoff must have assumed he could deliver enough dying black Christians to create a new revenue stram.

    Think Progress » Tom DeLay‚Äôs PAC receives felony indictment

  • So now if you miss the LIVE stram...you can ownload it to your hard drive and watch it on your ipod!

    Mayor Sam's Hotsheet for Thursday

  • Hearing the hoofs in his yard and the sergeant's _stram-a-ram_ upon the door, down comes the old curmudgeon with a candle held high above his head.

    I Saw Three Ships and Other Winter Tales

  • "But it made me mad to have you stram up there on deck and call me names before 'em."

    Blow The Man Down A Romance Of The Coast - 1916

  • I hed sech a stram this mornin ',' n 'hain't hed nothin' but a two-cent roll, 't I bought 't the baker's.

    Oldtown Folks

  • According to the Google blog, the stram will begin at 10:00a BST 9:00a GMT, 2:00a PT, 5:00a ET on Friday, April 29, and will follow the wedding procession, marriage ceremony at Westminster Abbey and balcony kiss.

    Forbes.com: News

  • I can't be the only one scratching my head at all the slobbering over Sean Payton? in comparison to the cardboard cutout of a coach on the other sideline he looked like the reincarnation of hank stram.

    The Big Lead

  • Has anyone thought of leveraging the new stram viewing capabilities to build a HME bort of Boxee on the TiVo S3 / HD?

    TiVo Community

Wordnik is becoming a not-for-profit! Read our announcement here.

Comments

Log in or sign up to get involved in the conversation. It's quick and easy.

  • Any sudden, loud and quick sound; so to stram the doors means to shut them with noise and violence. Hence, a bold and unexpected lie that greatly surprises the hearer is called a strammer, and hence also to strammer means to tell great and notorious lies. Frederick Elworthy's Specimens of English Dialects: Devonshire Glossary, 1879.

    August 2, 2008