from The American Heritage® Dictionary of the English Language, 4th Edition
- n. The inner lining of the fourth stomach of calves and other young ruminants.
- n. A dried extract made from the stomach lining of a ruminant, used in cheesemaking to curdle milk.
- n. See rennin.
from Wiktionary, Creative Commons Attribution/Share-Alike License
- n. An enzyme used as the first step in making cheese, to curdle the milk and coagulate the casein in it, derived by soaking the fourth stomach of a milk-fed calf in brine.
- n. A kind of apple.
from the GNU version of the Collaborative International Dictionary of English
- n. A name of many different kinds of apples. Cf. reinette.
- n. The inner, or mucous, membrane of the fourth stomach of the calf, or other young ruminant.
- n. an infusion or preparation of the calf stomach lining, used for coagulating milk. The active principle in this coagulating action is the enzyme rennin.
from The Century Dictionary and Cyclopedia
- To mix or treat with rennet.
- n. The fourth stomach of a calf prepared for curdling milk; the rennet-bag.
- n. Anything used to curdle milk.
- n. A kind of apple, said to have been introduced into England in the reign of Henry VIII. Also called renneting.
from WordNet 3.0 Copyright 2006 by Princeton University. All rights reserved.
- n. a substance that curdles milk in making cheese and junket
Cheese and onion crisps do contain rennet, which is a meat by product.
The liquor from the rennet is then added, and, being well stirred in, the tub is closely covered and kept in a warm temperature till the coagulation is complete, which is generally in little more than half an hour.
The rennet is then taken out, and the milk well stirred; after which it is left till the curd has formed, which is generally in about three quarters of an hour.
The rennet is then added, and the whole is kept moderately warm (the milk should never sink below 80°) till the curd is come, which is generally in about an hour.
The rennet is prepared in nearly the same manner, except that some allspice and a little saltpetre are generally added to the brine.
Um… like the article mentions, most cheeses contain rennet, which is obtained from dead calf stomachs.
Cheese, although obviously a dairy product, is often missing because cheese is made using rennet, which is an animal product and considered meat.
Paneer is Indian cheese made without rennet, which is why the label says 'Suitable for vegetarians'.
The Ingredient Essential to Diverse Cheeses: Time This basic technique of curdling milk with the help of the stomach extract now called rennet, then draining and brining the curds, was eventually carried west and north into Europe.
What is known as rennet is found in all animals that have a multiple stomach, and in the hare among animals whose stomach is single.
Wordnik is becoming a not-for-profit! Read our announcement here.